Seasons

In the middle of the night an old song came back to me. It’s 40 years old and I haven’t heard it in awhile. It used to bring me to tears. It did again.

You feel like you’ve lost control,
And the valleys seem so low,
Well it’s not forever, just a season of the soul.

seasons

When I looked up the song this morning, that butterfly escaping the cocoon image lifted my heart. Again.

The Omartians were among the first artists I heard when I started working in Christian radio. This particular song was not one I heard right away. The track runs nearly 7 minutes, more than twice as long as the usual radio-length songs of the time. But when I finally discovered it in the music library it became one of my personal favorites. The lyrics grew out of Stormie’s personal battles, of which I knew nothing at the time. The song is a sober, serious consolation and encouragement for those facing the oh-so-familiar struggles of life. There is no quick healing or solution promised. It is just a call to be steadfast in the day facing you.

A time to cry, a time to sing,
There’s a time for everything,
Nothing lasts that long.
Don’t look at what you see,
And just keep your eyes on Me.
I won’t let you go wrong.

The description of life consisting of seasons was an image that has stayed with me. At the time I first heard the song, my experience was mostly that of new seasons beginning and coming into bloom. Now, after many years, I’m aware that those seasons have begun to close, one after another.

I realize, even as I think fondly of seasons past, that they are truly past. The eternal future at home with the Lord remains somewhere up ahead. The immediate prospect is more like a growing twilight, with shadows spreading over what was familiar on the journey so far.

When you look for the voice that you’ve known, and no one’s there,
And when it seems the caretaker’s heart just doesn’t care,
It’s the seasons of the soul.
It’s the seasons of the soul.
Well it’s not forever – ….

But right now we must admit: forever is yet to come. We’re still dealing with the day before us.

In the 1970’s Michael released several highly original Christian albums performing songs written with his wife. They helped define the new contemporary Christian music scene that was fueling a new era of Christian radio. Stormie went on to write a number of books on prayer and intercession. Michael became one of the most successful pop music producers of the 1980’s. He was behind such huge hits as Sailing by Christopher Cross and She Works Hard For the Money by Donna Summer. It was a new season for him.

As I was digging up the memories online, I came across one of Michael’s last releases as a lead performer. It was another album of Christian songs written with Stormie. I found another old favorite from this Christian couple that provided a grace note to finish my earlier meditations. It was a statement of closure and assurance, regardless of the day I faced or the dimming light.

The work has all been done
And He’s already called you by name

It is done
Don’t you know that it is done
The battle has been won
It is done
It is done.

When I was halfway through writing this blog, I had an accident. I was standing in the bathroom, leaning for support on my walker. Suddenly I had to sneeze. I had no warning time to brace myself. For the first time in more than a year, I fell, hitting my back against the toilet seat. Fortunately, although the tile floor is a hard one, I broke nothing. My back will probably display a rainbow of colors the next few weeks.

Melanie’s sister had been visiting for lunch. They both hurried when they heard me cry out. Melanie waited until she was sure I was not injured seriously and had helped me to my feet. Then she broke into panicked tears and we hugged.

Another day in a long season. But

Don’t you know that it is done?
The battle has been won!
It is done
It is done.

**********

SEASONS OF THE SOUL

Lyrics by Stormie Omartian
Music by Michael Omartian

Whenever Summer dreams start to fade and lose their light,
And when the Spring in your heart seems so cold, it can’t be right,
And you feel like you’ve lost control,
And the valleys seem so low,
Well it’s not forever, just a season of the soul.

If you could step away just to see how far you’ve gone,
If you would take the time just to be what you’ve become,
You could have the time to grow,
There would be a chance to know
That it’s not forever, just a season of the soul.

Oh, it’s the season of the soul
It’s the season of the soul,
It’s the season of the soul,
It’s the season.

Walkin alone in the desert at night, searching for the rain,
How can this happen to me — it’s not right, when Jesus is my friend,
Everything was going fine,
I was standing on the line,
Where did I go wrong?
Suddenly the sky was gray,
Looking like it was gonna stay,
Far too long.

Up on a mountain I heard His sigh, like an angel’s call,
If you don’t rest when the Winter is here, what will you bear in the Fall?
A time to cry, a time to sing,
There’s a time for everything,
Nothing lasts that long.
Don’t look at what you see,
And just keep your eyes on Me.
I won’t let you go wrong.”

So when you look for the voice that you’ve known, and no one’s there,
And when it seems the caretaker’s heart, just doesn’t care,
It’s the seasons of the soul,
It’s the seasons of the soul,
Well it’s not forever – It’s the seasons of the soul.

 

IT IS DONE

Michael And Stormie Omartian

You’re just along for the ride
Kicking all your dreams aside
Acting like He never died
So you could freely dream them
Spent and overdrawn
Things that you’ve been banking on
Thinking you’re the only one
Ever to redeem them again

Can you be satisfied
Walking in through life’s backside
When the front door’s open wide
Ready to receive you
Let your blindfold drop
You’re standing on a mountain top
Jesus has you lifted up
And He will never leave you alone

It is done
It is done
The battle has been won
It is done

Will you just ride on the rim
Talking like your hopes are slim
When you could be reigning with Him
In power that won’t fail you
Should your heart grow numb
Waiting for your time to come
When the work has all been done
And He’s already called you by name

It is done
Don’t you know that it is done
The battle has been won
It is done
It is done

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seasons

  1. Jay Geary says:

    Great blog, Rick! Thank you and thank Jesus you were not hurt when you fell! I remember Michael Omartian from Donna Summers’ “She Works Hard for the Money” album. He had a lot of talent. I had no idea he also wrote and performed Christian music with his wife. By the way, the irony of the name “Stormie” is evident in the Seasons song. God’s peace, my friend – Jay

  2. Ed Headington says:

    I agree with Jay, Rick. What a beautiful song.

Leave a Reply

