The prayer mirror

David reflected on what he had learned about God in his own relationship with him and his observation of how God treated others. David said a key, a clue, was in the behavior we had already exhibited and that God had seen us display.

Psalm 18: 24.  The LORD has rewarded me according to my righteousness, according to the cleanness of my hands in his sight.
 25.  To the faithful you show yourself faithful, to the blameless you show yourself blameless,
 26.  to the pure you show yourself pure, but to the crooked you show yourself shrewd.

These lines are repeated almost word for word in II Samuel where David’s life is being summed up at the end of his reign.

II Sam 22: 25.  “The LORD has rewarded me according to my righteousness, according to my cleanness in his sight.
 26.  To the faithful you show yourself faithful, to the blameless you show yourself blameless,
 27.  to the pure you show yourself pure, but to the crooked you show yourself shrewd.”

It is almost as if God acts like a mirror to reflect back what He sees in us. It underscores how important Paul’s confession is.

Galatians 2: 20.  I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

If God can see Jesus in me, all will be well. When I pray I could expect to see the same responses and results he did when he spoke to his Father. If I am not seeing the same results, is it because God doesn’t yet see a perfect image of His Son in me? I certainly admit I think I’m an unfinished work in progress. Maybe that is one reason I feel I’ve had more experience knocking on the door than seeing the door swing open promptly.

I can remember plenty of times when I’ve had the sense of God speaking to me, asking me to do something. My response has, too often, been, “Yes… just a minute….” Maybe that is why it sometimes feels like I’m standing, knocking on that door, for a long time, waiting for an answer.

Is God saying, “I see who it is. I’m coming. Just a minute….”?

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

