Two

The stroke hit me two years ago today.

Over breakfast this morning Melanie and I read from our assortment of daily devotionals. Bam, bam, bam.

Melanie had already published her book of daily devotions by the time this day arrived. Today we read what she had included for this date.

Joshua 1:9 Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.

Jeremiah 32:27 Behold, I am the Lord, the God of all flesh. Is anything to difficult for Me?

Is God calling you to a new season? A season of creativity? Watch and see what He will do in your life, in a new season.

From John Piper’s Solid Joys we read:

This is God’s universal purpose for all Christian suffering: more contentment in God and less satisfaction in self and the world. I have never heard anyone say, “The really deep lessons of life have come through times of ease and comfort.” But I have heard strong saints say, “Every significant advance I have ever made in grasping the depths of God’s love and growing deep with him has come through suffering.” …Paul responded to this: “Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

From Oswald Chambers’ My Utmost For His Highest we read:

God frequently has to knock the bottom out of your experience as His saint to get you in direct contact with Himself. God wants you to understand that it is a life of faith, not a life of emotional enjoyment of His blessings… Faith by its very nature must be tested and tried. And the real trial of faith is not that we find it difficult to trust God, but that God’s character must be proven as trustworthy in our own minds. Faith being worked out into reality must experience times of unbroken isolation.

Back before this change, I was a deacon serving a local parish. I had a short blog at the church web page. That blog is no longer linked there, but it lives on in the archives of the internet. I used to stack up entries ahead of time to appear at future dates. November 1st, the day after the stroke, this is what I had posted to show up on that blog (see original here).

God places His saints where they will bring the most glory to Him, and we are totally incapable of judging where that may be. – Oswald Chambers

God sees where He is placing me, sending me. I will not be able to see this at first, but that’s when I must carefully obey, trusting that God DOES know what He is doing!

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two

  1. Ignacio Morrell says:

    Your light burns bright. You and Melanie are showing me the way. I can only imagine the depth of your struggle. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

Leave a Reply

