A welcome to Journey readers

This year the daily devotional publication The Journey has been running a series I wrote two years ago on the Gospel of Mark. The final entry in that series showed up today and the editors kindly included a note to alert their readers that they could find more of my work here at my blog. For those who have come to check it out, welcome!

The series on Mark was the last one I turned in before suffering a major stroke on Halloween evening of 2014. From time to time what I wrote back in those days of good health has shaken me up a bit, rereading it in my current, still damaged condition. A  couple of days ago I read what I wrote about the women who returned to Jesus’ tomb:

Their astonishment quickly turned to fear as they discovered the tomb wasn’t really empty. There was an angel waiting for them. And he had orders for them. They would not be the last servants to have well intentioned steps redirected to fit the plans of their living King.

Once again it’s like I’m slapping my own face. The experience has been one of the unexpected dimensions of being published, especially after writing about the life of faith in Our Lord Jesus Christ.

Since he has seen fit to leave me here to work and write a bit longer, I shall do so. I welcome your company and your comments as we go forward.

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A welcome to Journey readers

  1. Michelle says:

    And we are so glad he did leave you here to work and to write.

  2. Ed Headington says:

    I have thought in many of your Journey posts on Mark, Rick, that you seem to have been psychic.

Leave a Reply

