All… Together

I woke up the other day with a familiar phrase rattling around my brain: we know that all things work together for good to them that love God…

Surely I have realized this before but this time my attention was drawn to the principle that good came from all things when they work together. I realized the individual things might not seem good by themselves. I didn’t have to pretend they were. The good came from the way God worked the individual things together. It was another way of recognizing that God’s plans and attention involve more than just me.

Today the Jesuits at Pray As You Go based their devotional on the same passage. In the translation they use, it sounded like this:

28. We are well aware that God works with those who love him, those who have been called in accordance with his purpose, and turns everything to their good…
31. After saying this, what can we add? If God is for us, who can be against us?
32. Since he did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for the sake of all of us, then can we not expect that with him he will freely give us all his gifts? 

Romans 8, New Jerusalem Bible

Home therapists have visited this week and drilled me on tiresome exercises. I keep this verse running through my head and try to follow their instructions patiently.

And I keep knocking at the prayer door. How will Daddy not freely give me all His gifts? Even if I have to wait to see how they all fit together before it becomes obvious how good they are?

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All… Together

  1. gloriabethrose says:

    Rick, thank you for your reflections and this scripture. They are a God-message to me today and much needed. What you don’t know, and probably won’t until the other side, is how much your faithful telling of your journey helps…helps me/us to God.

  2. Ed Headington says:

    Just don’t ever forget, Rick, we love you!!

Leave a Reply

