Are we there yet?

I was ordained as a deacon on Saturday, December 1, 2007. On the previous Wednesday night of that week I gave the homily for the mid-week service at my church. I later published this sermon as a free e-book download which can also be read online here.

I got to thinking about that homily this week because two friends from my church are being ordained as deacons next Saturday. I am remembering what the moment was like, being on the cusp of a total change in my life. Kay and Bob have my prayers.

The stroke that suddenly sent me back to the bench almost two years ago has made me reflect on how my homily still applies to me today. We don’t know what is ahead. We have the day and we have the Lord. All details remain in his hands. And we’re not there yet because the Lord isn’t done yet. I have to trust each day He knows what He is doing.

Lord God, almighty and everlasting Father, you have brought me in safety to this new day: Preserve me with your mighty power, that I may not fall into sin, nor be overcome by adversity; and in all I do direct me to the fulfilling of your purpose; through Jesus Christ my Lord. Amen.

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Are we there yet?

  1. Ed Headington says:

    In my humble opinion, Rick, you live that prayer each day!! God bless you!!

Leave a Reply

