My big mouth

Melanie got me a set of soft plastic dental guards. I became aware I was gritting my teeth often, especially when trying to walk. As I concentrated on keeping my balance, I would clench my jaw tight.

Since the stroke, many things in my head don’t work right as they should. My vision is somewhat blurry. I see double at the sides of my visual field. I feel dizzy when I move my head (even when just nodding back and forth from keyboard to the computer monitor). And there’s the teeth grinding from time to time.

The dental guards Melanie got for me came in two sizes. We tried fitting the adult size and it seemed okay. Melanie trimmed the back of it a bit shorter but that left some pointed edges I could feel with my tongue. I suppose that is a good sign since my tongue still feels numb and mumbles my speech.

At breakfast today Melanie laid out one of the smaller size guards. I slipped it over my teeth. To my surprise it seemed to fit just fine.

“I knew you didn’t have a big mouth,” she said.

You’re the only one, I thought.

But you may have further comments on the matter and I invite you to share them below. I would not be surprised if this is the first time many of you have felt the urge to leave a comment.

Go ahead. I won’t bite.

I have a dental guard now.

You can thank Melanie.

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My big mouth

  1. Ed Headington says:

    Ha, hah!! I saw the guard yesterday. And know, I don’t think you have a big mouth!!!! Both Kathy and I have had them in the past. Didn’t particularly enjoy wearing them (we wore ours only at night), but they seemed to do the trick!! Hope your new smaller, and better fitting one works out for you.

Leave a Reply

