42nd

Today is my 42nd wedding anniversary with Melanie. We are working out the “in sickness and in health” part of our vows. [And see my note from last year.] I had a stroke 19 months ago. She was diagnosed with Lyme’s Disease about a month ago. Other than that…

We’re still devoted to each other. I cannot leave the house alone now. She cannot go outside in sunlight due to the medicine she is taking. Fortunately, we enjoy each other’s company in the house.

Melanie sent me an animated email anniversary card with a beach theme. Spending time at the beach was one of our favorite things to do not so long ago. Our life has begun a different chapter now. I often have my thoughts turned to others who have also encountered changes like this toward the end of their pilgrimage on earth. I pray with more interest and passion for all who are sharing this season with us.

Not to be morbid about it, but frankly as I look ahead, the best thing I foresee is being in Heaven with Melanie, Jesus and the rest of his Kingdom family. We get closer day by day. Each day we are promised new and fresh mercies.We are finding them real. Thank you, Lord.

It is not exactly the kind of day I was looking for. But being able to hold Melanie’s hand today – that ain’t bad. Thank you, Lord, for Melanie as my companion on the journey.

 

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 42nd

  1. Joe Mawhinney says:

    Congratulations and God’s peace . . . which does, indeed, pass all understanding.

Leave a Reply

