Adventures in writing

I’m getting close to finishing my book on the Kingdom Parables that JeKPsmall250sus taught. This morning I was working on the short parable in Matthew.

Matthew 13:52 He said to them, “Therefore every scribe who has been made a disciple in the Kingdom of Heaven is like a man who is a householder, who brings out of his treasure new and old things.”

I wrote it was like buying a new house and wanting your friends to see it. They come over and notice you have kept some of your favorite old furniture and decorations. But you have lots of new stuff, too. All together it’s a very pleasing assortment of new and old.

Melanie walked into my office just then, ready for a break. We like to watch TV shows together. I fired one up that I had recorded. It was about people trying to sell their houses.

On this program a single mom was wanting to sell her historic 100-year-old home. Her children were grown. She wanted to move to something smaller. But no one was making any offers on her house.

Melanie grew up in a historic home and loved it. She thought this lady had a beautiful, well kept home. But the TV host was very critical. All the remodeling the lady had already done looked out-of-date to him. So, he brought in his crew to fix things up.

As she watched one worker slap paint over some old, natural wood trim, I heard Melanie moaning softly, “No-oo!”

Nevertheless, when the TV cameras went around on the final tour, we both admitted the re-done rooms looked very attractive. The combination of new and old worked. According to the host, the house soon sold.

I thought about the coincidence of watching that program just as I had been writing about that parable. God as co-author of the book? At least He was was encouraging me to think I was on the right track.

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adventures in writing

  1. Ed Headington says:

    Pretty neat story!!

Leave a Reply

