Prayers in the night

I was awake at 1:30 a.m.

I kept my eyes  shut while laying on the bed but my mind was busy. I practiced centering prayer for bit. I thought about removing and disposing of more books from my shelves. Reading is not as easy since the stroke. I use concordances online now. I thought about files I could delete from the computer. I wondered if anyone would be interested in my early (now ancient) keyboard synthesizer. I was doing mental inventory and house cleaning.

I got up to visit the bathroom. It was now 3:30 a.m.

When I came back beside the bed, I stood in my walker a few minutes, wondering why the Lord had me awake. I didn’t want to awaken Melanie by being restless.

And I heard her voice in dark. She said, “Hi.”

So she got up, too, and we both went to sit in the living room. Only the usual nightlights were on. And we began to pray as the Lord brought names mind. Some of the names are on our prayer list. Others were friends who have crossed our path around the country over the years.

Sometimes we knew of a need to name before the Lord. Other times we just mentioned a name to him, leaving it up to Jesus to know what they needed from him today. I was interested how one name followed another in coming to mind. Only the Lord knew the order or purpose to the sequence.

We prayed in English. We prayed in the Spirit. We sang praise songs, full voice, hoping neighbors wouldn’t hear.

We told each other that we loved each other.

It was 4:30 a.m. I told Melanie I was going to practice walking around the couch and then do knee bends while leaning against the front door. She headed for her office.

A few minutes later as I walked by to our bedroom, I saw she was checking her computer. She told me she had just gotten news that a child she babysat 30 years ago when we were in Illinois had joined the Tulsa police department.

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Prayers in the night

  1. Ed Headington says:

    You two are so special. Your friendship blesses Kathy and me beyond words. We hope you know that we think of you and pray for you both every day (although maybe not at 4 AM!!!!)

    Our love,
    Ed

  2. pesmother says:

    I got chills reading this…good chills. Wow! The Holy Spirit. I pray for your continued recovery.

Leave a Reply

