Whatever we ask

I awoke with my daily prayer request on my lips. “Lord, heal me. Restore me.”And as I often do, I extended the request to cover several others on our prayer list.

Almost immediately I thought of that conversation James and John had with Jesus and how he answered them (Mark 10:35-38).

James and John, the sons of Zebedee, came near to him, saying, “Teacher, we want you to do for us whatever we will ask.”

He said to them, “What do you want me to do for you?”

[And they spell it out.]

But Jesus said to them, “You don’t know what you are asking.”

The Lord went on speaking in my heart. “You are asking that your therapists be put out of work.”

I thought about that for a moment. Then I agreed. “Yes. I am asking that they be put out of work and have to find new jobs and start over. That’s what I’m also asking.”

I wondered how the conversation would go if I were the one who had to tell them to their face. The therapists working with me each week are all serious Christians, involved at their churches. It has been a blessing from the Lord to meet them and be in their care. I was asking to fire them all.

It was either that or pray that only I would be healed. Everybody else the therapists were working with would continue as they were so the therapists could keep their present jobs.

My prayer was focused on my immediate discomfort and pain. The solution I asked for had many consequences that I had not considered. But I was not ready to withdraw my request.

Lord, fix everything. I don’t know how but I believe you are able and have a plan.

I started my vocal exercises.

“Ah! Lord God! Thou hast made the heavens and the earth by Thy great power. Nothing is too difficult for Thee. Nothing is too difficult for Thee…”

That’s why I come to You with my requests.

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whatever we ask

  1. Ed Headington says:

    Did you ever notice how many times when traffic is all backed up, when you get to the head of the line, there is a police officer trying to direct the traffic. Maybe that is what life would look like if we all could have all of our prayers answered!! Your post certainly gets one thinking!!

Leave a Reply

