Waiting for answers

I have failed to pass another swallow test.

There was some good news. A new exercise I’ve been doing seems to have strengthened a part of my throat. But the test revealed new problems hidden until now of reflux weakness farther down my throat. The advice is to delay any return to eating solid food awhile longer.

Melanie and I both wept once we were in the car coming home. My tears were mostly for her. I had hoped for much better news for her sake. She managed to drive safely in spite of the tears. When we got home she once more sat next to me to pour nutrition into my stomach tube. And she checked her online media where she learned the crippled young child of some friends had died. I thought of all the other patients we had seen at the hospital that day. We are surrounded by needs that cry out for healing and restoration every hour.

I started writing my next book just before Christmas. It will be a study of the parables Jesus told while teaching about the Kingdom of Heaven. I had already decided to start with the ones about small beginnings. In the middle of the night I had come awake thinking about that. I realized the parable about the mustard seed also required us to understand God’s willingness to be patient and take His time to complete His plans.

As His children we are invited to make our prayer requests known to Him. But He answers in His own time. Waiting on Him is a part of the deal, even when the extra wait gets filled with tears.

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Waiting for answers

  1. lucy sands says:

    Dear Rick, I so appreciate your sharing your ups and downs with me.  Melanie surely is a special person who loves you with all her heart.  So you have started writing your book about the parables that Jesus told. That’s wonderful..  Love, Aunt Lucy 

  2. Cindy says:

    You two inspire me and touch my heart strings. Aways in our thoughts and prayers.
    Cindy

  3. Pat Harrison says:

    I may not comment ,as others do, but I surly keep up and give you and Mel so much admiration. Your faith only makes our faith stronger.

  4. Ignacio says:

    Thanks for the inspiration you provide me. You are always in my prayers and I am confident your patience will pay off.

  5. Ed Headington says:

    We shared a tear or two with you and Melanie, Rick. We love you and we’ll keep praying.

Leave a Reply

