My guardian angel

As I carefully worked my way into the van I caught a glimpse of my guardian angel out of the corner of my eye. It was Melanie.

For the past year she has been on special alert, watching after me and staying close by to help – or making sure I had somebody to sit with me it she needed to run an errand.

As I noticed her this morning, a thought crossed my mind. The Lord watches over me even more closely than that. Thank you, Lord. And thank you for sending servants like Melanie into my life to watch out for me. Especially now.

Last night after she tube-fed me, I heard her sighing at the kitchen sink. I asked what was wrong.

She was honest. “I wish I didn’t have to be a nurse and could just be your wife.” I immediately told God, “Amen.”

Melanie took me along grocery shopping this morning. The way we used to do that was I would drive and let her off at the store entrance and then park. Inside the store, we ran our different routes picking up what we wanted.

These days, Melanie parks at a handicapped spot by the entrance and goes to bring me an electric cart to ride. I stay close behind her as she works up and down the aisles. I used to grab the heavy stuff for her. Now she wrestles with everything on her own. At home we have a list of friends to call to bring the heavy packages in from the van for us. My guardian angel needs her own guardian angels since I can no longer help.

On the way home Melanie got herself breakfast at a drive-up window. Then she made a final stop. While she was out of the van my mouth felt dry and thirsty. I reached for the root beer she had been drinking and carefully sucked up three tiny sips. I didn’t choke, so that was good.

When Melanie returned I told her what I’d done. She smiled a huge smile and said that made her day.

My guardian angel has a beautiful smile. I’m so glad I got to see it today.

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My guardian angel

  1. Pamela says:

    Absolutely beautiful, Rick, have a good day, sounds like prayers are being answered, praise God.

  2. Ed Headington says:

    Your sips of Root Beer make us smile too, Rick. We hope to see you a week from today!!!! – Ed

Leave a Reply

