Assignments

Tomorrow ends the month of August. It also brings to an end a month-long series of devotionals I wrote that have been published in The Journey, a publication from the Bible Reading Fellowship. I wrote this series during my Christmas break in 2013. It has been interesting to read my words now in very different circumstances. The final entry in the series, which is dated for tomorrow, begins:

Why do bad things happen to good people? Perhaps so we will have the opportunity to reaffirm our decision to trust the Lord.

Maybe I am the only reader who would find irony in that. The irony is almost painful but I find it hard to deny the argument I was putting down for the daily Bible studies when I wrote them. It is, in the strangest way, a sign to me that the Lord was indeed guiding my words back then. Even if it was only for the benefit of one future reader.

Tomorrow I will have further meetings with doctors and with nurses who will be sticking me and taking blood tests. They mean well. And I will have further opportunity to reaffirm my decision to trust the Lord. Wouldn’t we all think we would be grateful for such opportunities?? Up close, those moments tend to look different, true. But I believe Jesus means well.

I am about half way through my next book. I hope to have it ready to release by Christmas although, for the moment, I have announced a publication time of next summer. Next year The Journey will carry a year-long study I wrote (last year, pre-stroke) on the Gospel of Mark. And yesterday the editor wrote me with an invitation to write a series on the Parables of Jesus which is scheduled to appear in the summer of 2017.

Given my recent reading experience, I can only wonder what it will be like to read them and where I will be when it comes time for those efforts to be published. I hope that those tomorrows will still find me affirming my decision to trust the Lord.

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Assignments

  1. Ed Headington says:

    Kathy and I will be praying for you tomorrow, Rick.

Leave a Reply

