This, too

Shortly, Melanie will begin pouring in the “preparation” for my colonoscopy tomorrow. I try to remind myself that this, too, will pass. Just not quickly enough.

I held my breath as we read The Journey devotional for today, one I wrote and submitted two years ago. The reflection questions and prayer were

Does recalling how God faithfully sustained his other servants through hard times help put your own situation in perspective for you?

Prayer: Lord, thank you for the faithful testimony of your servants in all times and in all places. You will help me continue to trust you. I thank you now for the way you will guide and deliver me this very day, so that I may continue to praise and glorify your name.

I had already been thinking about and praying for those facing the day in much worse shape than me. I hate to sound pitiful. But for some of us, I suppose, that’s how it is as we face some of these unpleasant moments. My prayers and sympathies are for you, today, if things are looming kind of big over your heart and head just now. It will pass, it will pass. Just not as quickly as we would like.

I find myself thinking more about Heaven and Eternity the past ten months. There were doctors telling Melanie the day of my stroke that I might not make it. I had already lost one good friend to a sudden cancer only a month before my stroke. They have enjoyed the last ten months more than I have, I imagine. And I fully expect that, once I am there with Jesus, every pain that is past will fade quickly from memory. They come to pass, all of them. They just don’t pass quickly. At least, that’s how it seems from this point on the timeline.

This is the day that the Lord has made. He intends for you and me to be able to rejoice and be glad in it. God only makes good gifts for us. And they don’t pass away.

Help me to rejoice while I’m waiting, Lord, with all my brothers and sisters who also have been waiting.

May it all pass quickly. Maranatha.

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This, too

  1. Ed Headington says:

    We are thinking about you and praying for you TODAY as well as tomorrow, Rick!!

Leave a Reply

