Been there

This Tuesday I get a repeat visit to the hospital for a colonoscopy. My first try turned into a nightmare. I appreciate your prayers on Take Two (or Three) this week.

I remember thinking at the time that perhaps my bad experience was so I could better empathize with others going through such a mess. But even then I had doubts. I had never heard of anybody having a problem with this procedure. It’s not a pleasant experience preparing for it but it’s become a common, simple matter in modern medical care.

That’s what I used to think.

This weekend for the first time in my life I have heard of a friend who met with a similar failure to arrive at a successful conclusion and who will soon have to try it all again, from the beginning.

I don’t know how I would have reacted before, or if I would have even heard about this happening to my friend. If it weren’t for blogs I doubt I would be talking about it now. I don’t know what there is to say to comfort my friend even now. But I’m not laughing.

Praying, yes. Lord, another uncomfortable event in the life of this brother, someone who loves You. Mercy, Lord, please. For us both.

I did send one thank you note earlier today to a couple who gave me a wonderful gift while I was in the hospital last winter.

They have children going to school. Maybe these days that means that laptop computers need to be updated and replaced?? Anyway, I was given one such laptop that one of their kids had outgrown. I have fired it up this weekend and loaded it with Ebooks to read during what I expect will be many hours in the smallest office in the house tomorrow. I thanked these friends again for their gift.

And I hope I have other things to talk about in 48 hours.

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Been there

  1. Ed Headington says:

    Rick, we have been and continue to pray for you this week. We pray that your hospital visit will turn out MUCH better than your last one!! Our love, E&K

  2. lucy sands says:

    Dear Rick,  You are in my prayers as you have your colonoscopy today.  Love, Aunt Lucy

Leave a Reply

