Night fall

It was the middle of the night.

Actually, it was about 2:00 am. Melanie had admitted she had a “funny” feeling in her head when we first went to bed. I spent some time praying for her and fighting off worry about what I would do if she was not there. Waking nightmares before I even got to sleep. It fit the whole day I’d had because ever since the subject of despondency came up in our morning devotions I had been fighting it mentally and spiritually.

I was holding Melanie’s hand as she slept. Suddenly, she jerked awake. Somehow she thought I was not in the bed with her. Then she felt my hand holding hers.

“What was that noise?” she asked. I had heard nothing.

She got up to investigate the bathroom but found nothing. She didn’t come back to bed, going instead to her office. I heard the rattle of her keyboard and thought maybe she was working on her book. (Instead this morning I found she had been posting to Facebook about resisting despondency and trusting the promise that God does everything perfectly.)

Around 4:00 am she returned to bed. I had kicked off the blanket and she wrapped herself up in it. I listened to the air conditioner kick on and began to feel cold. I went to the bathroom and then began to explore in my office for another blanket to take back to bed. The one I expected to find was missing.

I came back to the bedroom and turned on the closet light. It gave me enough light to see an extra blanket in Melanie’s nightstand. I turned off the closet light and moved across the room toward the nightstand. Melanie was still asleep and I didn’t want to disturb her.

I bent down, trying to reach the blanket. Too late I felt myself losing my balance. I fell on my side to the floor. That woke Melanie up.

We have noted with some wonderment that I had never fallen in 8 and a half months of recovering from this stroke. I’ve had a couple of near misses but never went all the way to the floor. As the fellow who believed in predestination said after he fell down the staircase, “Thank goodness that’s over.”

In the dark I managed to miss every hard, sharp edge of the bed frame or anything else. I broke nothing. Nothing is bruised this morning. I have no lingering soreness.

The therapists in Winter Haven had taught me how to get up off the floor during my stay there last winter. This was the first time I needed to apply that lesson. Still in the dark, I got back on my feet and stepped (with my walker) around to my side of the bed and lay down.

Perhaps most remarkably, as Melanie noticed this morning, she never got panicked or nervous. I am most grateful that You kept Your hand on her heart to protect her as You protected me, Lord.

I don’t say God made me fall. But His ways of delivering us from danger are perfect.

 

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Night fall

  1. Jay Geary says:

    Rick: thank Jesus you were a) not hurt and b) prepared to be able to get back up. Wow.

    Let’s see: stumbling and falling in the dark, saved from serious injury by God’s grace, trained in how to get up, praise and thanks given to God. Sounds like you’ve given us a working metaphor for a day in the life of a Christian. Thanks, my friend.

  2. Ed Headington says:

    Whew!! We truly thank God for looking over you last night, Rick. (and you, Melanie).

  3. lucy sands says:

    Dear Rick,    Thank you for sharing this with me.  Your faith and trust in God in all that you are experiencing is surely an inspiration for me, as is Melanie’s faith.  It’s difficult to manage the “what if’s” even when one is well.  To fall as you did and manage to get up with the aid of your walker and not have bruises nor broken bones is a miracle as I see it.  Love, Aunt Lucy

Leave a Reply

