All around

I listened as a friend unloaded their frustrations with the medical care being received by one of his children. I found myself wondering if one reason the Lord was allowing the unfortunate situation was so that my friend would be drawn to a special place of access where he could help his own child and others facing similar problems.

It is good for me to hear something like this every now and then. It is plenty easy for me to concentrate on my own problems. The Lord wants me to recognize that others are also struggling and need my prayers.

In fact I have been suspecting for awhile now that part of the purpose of this part of my journey is to learn how great is the need for intercessory prayer. Today, sitting in the car, I watched a young driver ahead of us at a stoplight as she brushed her hair. Immediately, I found myself wondering, “What does tomorrow hold for her?” And I prayed. Does that sound morbid? I am hoping it is, instead, the Lord prompting intercession for one of His children.

It’s a broken world. Brokenness is more common in our lives than not. If you don’t see it yourself, give thanks today and get ready. There is a tomorrow ahead.

Lord have mercy on us. Send workers to bring needed help, even simple cups of cold water.

Send me. I am learning how welcome and how needed the intercession is.

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All around

  1. lucy sands says:

    Thank you, Rick.  I needed this today.  Love, Aunt Lucy

Leave a Reply

