Pretzel

After the swallowing therapist gave her okay, Melanie bought a small package of pretzels today. I didn’t want her to buy a big box. I didn’t have that much faith or confidence. She couldn’t find sticks so she settled on minis that were thin and in the usual pretzel curve.

At home she made some guacamole out of an avocado. She brought it to me at my computer desk obviously expecting I wouldn’t make a mess.

My finger and hand agility is still limited. I couldn’t get the pretzel bag reclosed with the metal file folder clip – my right hand fingers are too weak!! Finally got it with my left hand.

I got one pretzel out, kind of tiny and therefore a bit hard to manipulate. But I scooped it into the guacamole and bit off a small piece after it got soft from the guacamole wetness. I chewed it all to dough consistency.

Swallowing was ugly, slow, difficult, scary sounding, nearly a failure because my throat and tongue muscles are still so sluggish. I took several small sips of water to get it all to wash down. Finally finished one mini pretzel in several small pieces. It all tasted good though.

Thank you Melanie. Jesus, please hasten the day I can swallow without trouble. Thank you everyone for your prayers.

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pretzel

  1. Jay Geary says:

    Great post! Thank you, Father, Son and Holy Spirit.

  2. Liz Tucker says:

    Rick,
    You are a true inspiration to us all. I lift you and Melanie up in prayer and am so thankful to God for your continued healing. It’s all grace.

    Liz

  3. lucy sands says:

    Dear Rick,  This is encouraging news.  My Pastor would like to read what you have shared with many of us. Would that be alright with you? Love, Aunt Lucy

Leave a Reply

