Invisible miracles

At the beginning of the month Melanie and I opened a new daily devotional. The very first lesson included a summary of healings performed by Jesus early in Matthew’s Gospel. The writers wrapped up with the statement:

None of us will ever have the miraculous powers of Jesus.

I handed it to Melanie and said, “There is a line I would dispute.” When she read it the same line stood out to her. And she instantly quoted the same promise I had thought of.

Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.       John 14:12

For a few minutes we both expressed our belief that Jesus wants to see us do exactly what he did in his earthly ministry of healing and miracles.

We stopped when the fact of our present condition overcame us with irony. Melanie was wearing a brace because an arm nerve was tormenting her. I could barely speak or walk because of the stroke. I still have a feeding tube stuck in my stomach so I can be saved from starvation.

But, yes, we both still pray for and expect to see miracles and healing from these and other maladies and human brokenness, in the mighty Name of Jesus. No matter what it looks like now. We don’t think God needs His reputation shielded by us not expecting Him to be as powerful and loving as He is.

Later that day we had a visit by a family who were stopping by to leave us the gift of some medical supplies, syringes for my feeding tube and bandages. This family had some extra to share because their wheelchair bound son with epilepsy also has a feeding tube. And a tracheotomy. For the past ten years.

When they wheeled the boy into our house his youngest sister was riding in his lap on the wheelchair. She is three. She is not yet talking clearly.

They came to be a blessing to us and they were. Their attitudes were positive. They were matter of fact in sharing what they had learned through their ongoing experience.

After they left the thought crossed my mind, Why didn’t I pray for them?

I have, we have, in the past and they know this and are thankful. They are praying for us. But here we all are, still unable to show the miracles or healings we believe are available to us in the mighty Name of Jesus.

As they left, the father asked Melanie how she was doing. “I’m tired,” she said. “I get that,” he replied.

That’s what we have to show, right now. But we don’t believe it’s all we will be shown eventually. We continue to pray, “Lord, have mercy” with no irony whatsoever.

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Invisible miracles

  1. sian656 says:

    What a talent for writing God has blessed you with…..thanks for sharing that talent.

  2. Ed Headington says:

    Even though we haven’t seen you for a few weeks, we are still praying mightily for you both every day!!

  3. lucy sands says:

    Dear Rick, Again, thank you for sharing with my family and me, as I forward your writings to each of my families.  Your faith is a blessing.  Love, Aunt Lucy

Leave a Reply

