Witnessing

Then the LORD reached out his hand and touched my mouth and said to me, “Now, I have put my words in your mouth.” Jeremiah 1:9

That verse was one of the readings that Melanie and I listened to as we started the day. Among other rabbit trails, my thoughts turned to the blogging and writing she and I are doing, especially these days.

A few years ago I was introduced to a book by Bill Fay called Share Jesus Without Fear. One of the key points he made, and which made a serious impression on me, was the reminder that we never witness alone. When we share our stories about Jesus Christ, we always have the Holy Spirit as a companion Witness working with us. Indeed, Bill’s point was that we could think of these encounters as ones where the Holy Spirit was already at work and we had temporarily been called to assist for a moment’s encounter with the other person. The Holy Spirit would continue to work with them after our encounter. Thus, we could share without fear or some false sense that it all depended on us and what we might have to say.

I’ve become more conscious of this since reading and teaching from Bill’s book. And I am often reminded that I am only playing a “bit part” in the encounters that others may be having with the Holy Spirit and the call to trust and follow Jesus.

Recently I’ve lost count of the times visitors will tell me they are feeling blessed by a chance to talk with me, or by something they’ve read here in my blog. I can’t avoid the “deer in the headlights” look these days, but comments like this are a sure trigger. It can’t be me, I think. Somehow, for some reason, the Lord is using us to add a touch of something to the work He has already started. I often feel humbled when I see who has dropped by to see us and spend a moment with us. We definitely feel the love and grace of the Lord’s presence in His servants who come by. I am much more aware of what has been brought to us than I am of anything I am contributing to the encounter.

Yet, clearly God is calling us every time to share a part if the work with Him. We are not working solo. It is not all up to us. The Father wants it to be a family effort, a team effort.

Thanks for spending time with us, sharing our thoughts and prayers. Thanks sharing your thoughts and prayers with us. It is one of the ways that we notice the LORD is reaching out His hand to touch us.

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

