Learning Sufficiency

 

A dear friend wrote to me after I confessed the struggle I was having letting God’s grace be sufficient for me when what I want is for Jesus to make me well! My friend responds:

I’ve experienced more and more significant problems with my lupus and it’s really hard to process it all as the list keeps being added to! Kinda thought I had enough wrong with me and maybe God could ‘share it around’ – God simply replies ‘My grace is sufficient for you My strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly then will I glory in my infirmities that the power of Christ may rest upon me!’ An incredibly hard word to swallow but it refocuses me that God hasn’t abandoned me in my difficult times! Even though I don’t have the same battles you experience I’ve had some horrible times during the last 30 years so I do understand something of your frustrations. I have been through times where if a preacher was going to speak on healing I would tell (my husband) I’m going to get up and leave! I never have left because God intervened but boy have I come close. People gave me tons of books on healing and I’ve read a truckload of them which added to my frustration of ‘waiting ‘for my healing so I don’t read them anymore! I just remind God He has promised to never leave me nor forsake me and I’ve stopped making so much noise in His ear and learnt a hard lesson of actually listening to what He says to me! That has really helped.

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.