RIP Andrae

Word comes this morning that Andrae Crouch has died at age 72. A friend of his remarked that Andrae no longer would need to be singing, “Soon and Very Soon We Are Going To See the King,” one of his famous songs. For Andrae that day has arrived!

I have been thinking of another lyric Andrae wrote, this one early on, when he was a young man.

I thank God for the mountains,
and I thank Him for the valleys,
I thank Him for the storms He brought me through.
For if I’d never had a problem,
I wouldn’t know God could solve them,
I’d never know what faith in God could do.

Whatever trouble he’d seen as a young man, there was already a strong foundation of faith that would continue to be expressed in his music throughout his life. Those words are running through my mind these days. Once more, Andrae ministers to me.

I became a friend of his early manager, Gary DeHaan. Gary later had his own ministry singing in churches across the land. When Gary died in 1999, I helped his young associate, Kenny Frontz, write a memoir that included some stories about Andrae. We decided to ask Andrae to contribute a forward to the book. Andrae agreed to do that – but only if someone else would write it! Thus there came a day when I got to place a personal phone call and speak with Andrae about his memories of Gary. Then I became Andrae’s ghost writer and put it all on paper for the book. Incredible.

Thanks, Lord Jesus, for the witness and ministry of your servant. As he liked to remind us, Soon, and very soon for all of us, we too shall get to see you, finally. The day cannot come too soon.

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to RIP Andrae

  1. Pat Kelly says:

    Thanks, Rick. Your short blog makes me really consider what’s important on my journey.

Leave a Reply

