40 Days

Forty days ago it was Halloween, the night I had a stroke. I lost my sense of balance, my eyes stopped tracking together, making me see double, my mouth and tongue were affected so my speech became slurred and I lost the reflex to swallow. I am  being fed through a pipe directly to my stomach. My last normal meal and drink was 40 days ago.

So, I’ve been thinking about Jesus’ 40 days in the wilderness, without even a feeding tube, and how long it is when lived for a few minutes at a time each day with a dry mouth.

Right now, as part of our daily devotions, Melanie and I are reading Jan Frank’s book A Graceful Waiting. This morning we read her quote from Charles Spurgeon:

Contentment is one of the flowers from heaven, and if we would have it, it must be   cultivated; it will not grow in us by nature; it is the new nature alone that can produce it, and even then we must be specially careful and watchful that we maintain and cultivate the grace which God has sown in us.

Jan goes on to say, “Cultivating is not a one-time act, but a continual, repetitive process.”

I am testing out the process one day at a time, with Day 41 coming up.

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 40 Days

  1. Sally Richardson says:

    Praying every day, a.m. & p.m., for complete, total recovery and much grace while you ”Wait”.

    Don & Sally Richardson

  2. drfred143 says:

    Blessing to you Rick and your family. You are now in our thoughts and prayers. Since we are living in Tenessee, I did not know that you had a stroke. I pray for complete recovery. Fred and Jo.

Leave a Reply

