Daily Devotionals for The Journey 5

The Journey is a daily devotional published by the Bible Reading Fellowship in Winter Park, Florida. I have enjoyed reading their daily devotionals for several years and recommend them to you. And that was even before they invited me to contribute to their publication!

In their current issue they are setting aside two months in order to do a “Bible book review.” Every day is taken from a different book of the Bible. I was invited to write about Judges, Ruth, I and II Samuel and I and II Kings. This week I will post my daily contributions but be sure to subscribe to The Journey yourself (or recommend it to your church) as a regular devotional resource.

**********
Read: I Kings 17

The books of Kings record the tragic political record of the kings ruling over the divided land of Israel. In response, God introduces another leadership model.

We have zero background on the prophet Elijah. The guy just shows up in the breakaway Northern Kingdom of Israel. He declares there will be no rain in the land “except at my word” (I Kings 17:1). Before the chapter is over he has even raised the dead.

The Nicene Creed says of the Holy Spirit, “He has spoken through the prophets.” The remaining books of the Old Testament record the ministry of the early prophets, a ministry that is poured out on all of God’s people at Pentecost (Acts 2:11-18, I Corinthians 14:1-5). The prophet-model most closely resembles the normative Christian life. It does not depend on political position or national identity. It is not a role we choose. It is the way Almighty God uses us to speak to the world. Servants of the Lord should expect to hear the words of the widow of Zarephath: “Now I know that you are a man of God and that the word of the LORD from your mouth is the truth.” (I Kings 17:24).

 

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Devotionals for The Journey 5

  1. Sally Richardson says:

    Interesting – informative – challenging
    Blessings ~
    Sally richardson

Leave a Reply

