Daily Devotionals for The Journey 4

The Journey is a daily devotional published by the Bible Reading Fellowship in Winter Park, Florida. I have enjoyed reading their daily devotionals for several years and recommend them to you. And that was even before they invited me to contribute to their publication!

In their current issue they are setting aside two months in order to do a “Bible book review.” Every day is taken from a different book of the Bible. I was invited to write about Judges, Ruth, I and II Samuel and I and II Kings. This week I will post my daily contributions but be sure to subscribe to The Journey yourself (or recommend it to your church) as a regular devotional resource.

**********
Read: II Samuel 22:21-33, 23:1-5

Even Israel’s greatest king, David, faltered at times and yielded to sin. His testimony was that, although a sinner, he knew he had received forgiveness and was therefore blameless and clean in God’s sight (II Samuel 22:24-25).

King David’s “last words” include another remarkable claim: “The Spirit of the LORD spoke through me; his word was on my tongue” (II Samuel 23:2). Here we have a clue to the next model God will use in order to restore the broken relation with mankind.

David’s life bears witness that God will not allow our broken relationship with Him to go unrestored. He never finds us in perfect working order! Nevertheless, He redeems us and gives us places of privilege in His kingdom, enabling us to share an intimate knowledge of His ways and will. Do not be surprised, then, that God would fill us with His Holy Spirit and use our own tongues to speak His words to the world. This is how we find ourselves remade in the image of Jesus, who came “not to do my will but to do the will of him who sent me” (John 6:38).

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

