The mystery turns real

When I write these blog posts or my books, I realize I am usually in a kind of abstract, intellectual perspective. I am Pondering God™ and His ways, connecting dots in His revelations and Word to us.

In The Mystery of Faith I was asking myself what made it possible for Jesus to look at someone and then declare that they had faith. It was a fascinating study for me as I was writing.

The book has been out for a month. Saturday, I learned of a young fellow author who has been shocked by her doctor informing her she has stage three cancer. The discovery was made while she had surgery for a quite different condition. This is the Mother’s Day news she has for her mother.

I am chilled to realize that all my abstract theology about faith will suddenly be hammered out and road tested by my friend. Does she have a faith that can heal her? Does she have a faith that can earn her the evaluation of “great” from her Lord? Is she going to believe and yet desperately need help with her unbelief? These are not abstract questions for her.

Suddenly it is frighteningly real. This is no longer ideas, ink on paper. This is life and death.

Satan is sifting. And Jesus is praying.

So am I.

Lord have mercy. Christ have mercy. Lord have mercy.

 

About Deacon Rick

I am a retired Deacon in Lakeland Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

